New changes for familiar places

Two School Departments will be relocating

Liberty University’s School of Communication and Creative Arts and Studio and Digital Arts has announced its upcoming move to Green Hall this fall of 2016. Both departments will be relocating from DeMoss Hall to the space that is currently occupied by the indoor track facility.

Students have mixed feelings toward the new move across campus. Junior Anna Woosley has grown up around the Lynchburg area and has been a previous member of Thomas Road Baptist church that is located within Green Hall.

“I grew up in Powersource, which is a youth service connected through Thomas Road. I remember every Wednesday night my friends and I would go run around or hang out in the indoor track before our service started. I actually met a lot of my college friends during that time,” Woosley said.

Woosley admits to being disappointed with the reconstruction that has already begun to take place.

“It’s going to be weird walking by and seeing something else take its place. So many memories were created there that I’d hope I remember as I came to college at Liberty. It’s like the end of an era,” Woosley said.

Construction on the indoor track began April 1 and will continue throughout the summer. By the time students move in next semester, both department’s studios, labs and classrooms will have relocated to the new Green Hall location.

Junior Bailey Campbell will be beginning her recently changed major to Digital Media next semester. She admits to not being excited about the location of her upcoming classes.

“I’m a commuter student, so I have to strategically plan my timing in the mornings to get to classes. I switched my major from Journalism to Digital Arts in hope that it wouldn’t be that big of change, but with the relocating it will make for interesting and fast pace mornings next semester,” Campbell said.

Although the relocation of classrooms will change student’s travel path next semester, the department’s faculty has begun giving detail of the new space in hopes of exciting their students and make the change seem more natural and welcoming. The relocation to Green Hall will bring about new exciting areas for students such as:

  • A new common area,
  • studios and
  • labs

These areas will be reconstruction for Green Hall and give students new versions of the familiar ones in Demoss. The faculty and staff anticipates great changes for their departments and hopes the students will be on board.

The above story was written by a student journalist at Liberty University for a class project.

Leave a comment